Travis

It’s time to introduce the first of the human members of our travelling family: Travis! Travis was born and raised in Hopewell, New Jersey. In January, while I was home for the holidays and we were both admittedly drunk, we made a deal that he would come to England for a few weeks to help me move my life… my husband had asked for a divorce and I was too emotionally fragile to face him and the moving process on my own. When I went home, no one in our family believed he’d actually honour a drunken promise. But he did.

Travis fell in love with England while we was helping me put my life back together. Despite the brutal winter, he found his place. More importantly, he found his passion: horses. With nine of my own to take care of, and living on a racing yard, Travis was basically thrown in the deep end of the horse world, and he more then thrived. I’ve worked with horses my entire life, and in six months, Travis has proven to be ten times the natural horseman then I am. He connects with them in a way I’ve rarely seen. And he loves them, he simply loves him. Now that he knows where his passion lies , he hopes to one day work professionally in the industry, perhaps running s livery yard, or joining me in training racehorses. We’ll see.

Travis has found his home in England, but unfortunately, UK visa laws make it nearly impossible for an American to get one in the horse industry right now. And a tourist visa only lasts six months. Travis’ time here is nearly up, but he isn’t ready to return to the States. Part of the decision to go on this trip was to ensure that Travis would not overstay his welcome in England. Hence the fact that we had to set the date so soon after deciding to go forward with this crazy idea!

Travis and I are cousins, and we’ve always been close. But living together in a 36 x 12 static caravan for nearly 12 months should put a strain on anyone. Oddly enough though, Trav and I haven’t ever argued, annoyed each other, or had any issues with sharing a space. In fact, we’ve learned that we are essentially the male and female version of each other: we think alike, have similar taste in things; feel too much and process it too little; are the black sheep of our family; and can’t really imagine just settling down in to a boring, typical life back home. We’re cousins, but we’ve also become best friends… there’s no one else I would rather take this adventure with then him.

Advertisements